OSCH (Our Shared Cultural Heritage)

Amina B avatar

I was a Social Action Intern at Manchester Museum (2021-2022) working closely with young people and managing social action projects like The Croissant Club engaging young Muslims from all over the world to create discussions around hybrid Muslim identity and South Asian Beauty Standards.

Whose Statues? Whose Stories? gave me the chance to write poetry and feature my poem Britannia focusing on statues in our cities and what role do they play, not only in our country but in the world. In this piece, I aimed to explore what certain statues represent to us and if they reflect our moral values.

This film was produced and filmed by Words of Colour, CODE and OSCH.

I was asked by the OSCH coordinator and Young Collective to host a poetry workshop in July 2021 for South Asian Heritage Month. Following on from the Whose Statues? Whose Stories? workshops, Belonging: Space & Place focused on Riz Ahmed’s The Breakup/Shikwa piece asking participants to explore post coloniality, shared identities and their relationship with Britain stimulating from the line Britain’s broken up with me just as Riz Ahmed does. This workshop was well received by participants and gave me the chance to learn how to facilitate a safe comfortable environment for young people to express their feelings and thoughts about their personal identities.

OSCH has given me the chance to perform my spoken word monologue at Whose Statues? Whose Stories? panel chaired by David Olusoga at Whitworth in October 2021


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started